WhatsApp will not deactivate accounts of users who do not accept the new rules until May 15

Recently, the WhatsApp messenger has faced a wave of criticism due to the introduction of an updated user agreement. The deadline for the new rules will expire on May 15, otherwise users will face some restrictions.

Initially, WhatsApp threatened to delete or block the accounts of users who would not agree to the new rules. Now the team has mitigated the “punishment” by promising not to remove anything.

Thus, after May 15, those who disagree will be able to continue using the application, but they will continue to receive notifications reminding them of the changes and asking them to accept them.

Next, WhatsApp will switch to reduced functionality mode. Users will not be able to access their chat list, but will still be able to receive any incoming audio and video calls. In a few more weeks, this opportunity will be gone. That is, in any case, if you plan to use the messenger in the future, the rules will have to be accepted.

WhatsApp does not set an exact date for any of these events, giving a foggy period for each condition that appears to be individual.

In any case, WhatsApp said the majority have already agreed to the new rules.

Recall, as the team explained, the rules will not affect correspondence. They are, as before, protected by encryption, and messages will not be stored on Facebook’s servers. And the practice of transferring some information to Facebook has existed before, since WhatsApp is a subsidiary of Facebook.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Alexandr Ivanov earned his Licentiate Engineer in Systems and Computer Engineering from the Free International University of Moldova. Since 2013, Alexandr has been working as a freelance web programmer.
Function: Web Developer and Editor
Alexandr Ivanov

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: