Watch astronauts go into outer space live

Two NASA astronauts go into outer space near the International Space Station to replace old batteries. Earthlings have the opportunity to look at the work of astronauts live. This is reported by the NASA blog.

NASA astronauts Robert Benken and Chris Cassidy launched the first of their last two spacewalks to complete the 3.5-year effort to modernize the International Space Station’s power system. They will replace the batteries in one of the two power channels on the far right side of the station (S6 truss).

At 7:10 am ET, the astronauts switched their spacesuits to battery power to begin their spacewalk, which is expected to last from six to seven hours.

Today’s EVA began at 7:35 Eastern Standard Time (11:35 GMT), and NASA’s live broadcast began at 6:00 Eastern Standard Time (10:00 GMT).

Benken will act as the leading astronaut during a spacewalk and will wear a red stripe spacesuit. There will be no stripes on Cassidy’s spacesuit. This is the ninth spacewalk for both astronauts.

Benken and crew member Douglas Hurley arrived at the space station in May as part of the Demo 2 mission as part of the Agency’s Commercial Transportation Program. The mission is designed to test the SpaceX Crew Dragon and the Falcon 9 rocket – including all launch, in-orbit, docking and landing operations – before NASA certification of the SpaceX crew transportation system for regular flights with the crew to the orbital laboratory.

Tags: ,