US Secretary of State presents International Women’s Courage Award

First Lady Dr. Jill Biden speaks at the virtual ceremony.

Secretary of State Antony Blinken is hosting the annual International Women of Courage (IWOC) award ceremony on Monday for a group of outstanding women from around the world. In her speech, First Lady Dr. Jill Biden celebrates the achievements of these brave women.

The 2021 honorees include seven women leaders and activists from Afghanistan who were killed for their commitment to improving Afghans’ lives.

Due to the epidemiological situation, the ceremony is held in virtual mode and is broadcast live on the official website of the State Department.

The IWOC Award, which has been in existence for 15 years, recognizes women worldwide who have demonstrated exceptional courage and leadership in the fight for peace, justice, human rights, gender equality, and women’s empowerment. Since its establishment in March 2007, the award has been awarded to more than 155 female laureates from more than 75 countries. U.S. diplomatic missions abroad nominate one woman from the host countries, and the finalists are selected and approved by senior State Department officials.

After the ceremony, the winners will take part in the virtual conference International Visitor Leadership Program.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Author: Ivan Maltsev
The study of political and social problems of different countries of the world. Analysis of large companies on the world market. Observing world leaders in the political arena.
Function: Chief-Editor
Ivan Maltsev

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: