The winners of the Global Energy Prize were scientists from Denmark and the USA

The Dane Frede Blaabjerg and American Khalil Amin received the award “Global Energy”-2019 for significant contribution to the development of technologies that provide new opportunities in energy development. A total of 39 people claimed the award.

The winners will be awarded diplomas, gold medals, and badges, as well as they, will share the prize fund.

Professor Blaabjerg received the award in the category “Alternative Energy.” His developments are used in wind power plants and allow to produce electricity, saving tens of millions of dollars a year.

Blaabjerg, which is the most cited author among the scholars of all engineering disciplines in the world, has also offered solutions for reliable integration of photovoltaic plants and wind turbines in the electrical grid. Currently, the installed capacity of such renewable energy sources (RES) connected to networks exceeds 1000 gigawatts.

Professor Amin is a world record holder in the number of publications on the topic of batteries. His research is related to the creation of new cathodes and anodes for lithium-ion batteries, the development of liquid-polymer electrolyte systems, as well as lithium-oxygen, lithium-sulfur, sodium-ion batteries. The main achievement of the scientist is considered to be the invention of the cathode NMC, which is widely used now in domestic electrical engineering and electric vehicles. In addition, he developed a new superoxide battery system capable of producing five times more energy than lithium-ion batteries.

The Global Energy Prize is an international award for outstanding research and scientific and technical developments in the field of energy. Since 2003, 37 scientists from 12 countries – Australia, Great Britain, Germany, Iceland, Canada, Russia, USA, Ukraine, France, Sweden, Switzerland, and Japan-have become its winners.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor