The US plans to impose a complete ban on imports of Iranian oil

The US will extend anti-Iranian sanctions on oil imports, which were not previously subject to restrictions. On new sanctions, US Secretary of state Mike Pompeo will announce today, April 22, reports The Washington Post, citing sources.

The package of sanctions against Iran was introduced in November 2018. Then the US made an exception for eight countries that were allowed to buy Iranian oil. We are talking about Greece, Italy, Taiwan, China, India, Turkey, Japan, and South Korea. As the WP clarifies, the largest importers of Iranian oil are China and India. Greece, Italy, and Taiwan reduced Iranian oil imports from Iran to zero in November 2018.

In May 2018, US President Donald Trump decided to withdraw from the nuclear deal with Iran. In August of the same year, Washington introduced a new package of sanctions against Tehran, relating to operations with the Iranian national currency and public debt, trade in precious metals, the automotive sector, and imports of Iranian products to the US. On March 12, 2019, the US extended the sanctions for a year.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor