The US imposed sanctions against Chechen Special Forces

The United States imposed sanctions on the Chechen special rapid reaction unit (SRRU) “Terek.” This was reported on the website of the US Treasury.

The blacklist under the “Magnitsky law” also includes five people, including the commander of the detachment Abuzayd Vismuradov. Among those under restrictions — the former chief of a corrective colony-7 UFSIN of Karelia Sergey Kossiev, convicted for abuse or exceeding of authority, and former commander of the police battalion “North” Ruslan Geremeev. The last consequence long time suspected of the organization of murder of the politician Boris Nemtsov.

Also in the list appear Elena Tricula and Gennady Karlov. RIA Novosti notes that the woman worked as an investigator of the Investigative Committee, the man worked in the IC at the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia and was related to the “Magnitsky case.”

In February, US senators issued a resolution calling on the Secretary of state and the Secretary of the Treasury to “use their powers within the framework of the Magnitsky Act and the global Magnitsky act to impose sanctions against those involved” in the murder of Nemtsov.

“Magnitsky law” was adopted in the United States in 2012. It implies sanctions for Russians allegedly involved in human rights violations. At the same time, the names of those against whom restrictive measures are imposed are made public. The law was named after Russian lawyer Sergei Magnitsky. He was arrested in 2008, in 2009 he died in the Moscow jail “Sailor’s silence.”

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor