The US has added two South Sudanese politicians to the list of sanctions

WASHINGTON -The US has added two South Sudanese politicians to the sanctions list for “obstructing the reconciliation process,” the US Treasury Department said.

Cabinet Minister Martin Elia Lomuro and Defense Minister Kuol Manyang Juuk were sanctioned.

In September 2018, South Sudanese President Salva Kiir and opposition leader Riek Machar agreed to renew peace agreements and establish a national unity government on May 12, 2019. This period was extended more than once, but the government was never formed.

“The US still does not see concrete steps by the government of South Sudan to create a political and security environment that would contribute to the formation of a government of national unity and adequate implementation of the peace agreement,” the Treasury Department said in a release.

In particular, Lomuro continues to form a militia that opposes the armed opposition, and Juuk has not carried out the withdrawal of armed groups, as agreed by the parties to the peace agreements, and continues to prepare the militias for clashes, the US authorities say. “These Ministers are delaying the conflict to fix the political status quo,” the US Treasury said.
Because of sanctions, all the assets of the defendants in the list that can be found in the US jurisdiction will be blocked, and US citizens will be banned from dealing with them.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor