The US DHS has determined the procedure for returning Americans from Europe, China, and Iran

Upon arrival, travelers will go through standard customs control, detailed screening, and answer questions about their health status.

The US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has developed a new procedure for returning American citizens from several European countries (the Schengen area), as well as China and Iran. The Agency reported this in an order issued on March 13.

The order States that Americans returning to the United States from countries with restricted access on flights departing starting at 23: 59 Eastern time on March 13, will have to travel through the following 13 airports: Boston-Logan, (Massachusetts), Chicago O’Hare, (Illinois), Dallas, (Texas), Detroit, (Michigan), Daniel K. Inouye Airport, (Hawaii), Hartsfield-Jackson airport, Atlanta, (Georgia), John F. Kennedy Airport (NY), airport Los Angeles (CA), Miami (FL), Newark (New Jersey), San Francisco (CA), Seattle-Tacoma (WA) airport, Washington Dulles (VA).

Upon arrival, travelers will pass through standard customs control. Then they will undergo a detailed screening, during which they will be asked questions about their medical history, current health status, and they will also be asked for contact information for local health authorities. Then passengers will be given written instructions regarding COVID-19. After that, passengers will be able to proceed to their destination. Upon arrival, they will be required to remain under home quarantine under the recommendations of the Centers for disease control and prevention.

President Trump said that the United States is at risk of the widespread of coronavirus by infected individuals who want to enter the country. In this regard, the Department of homeland security temporarily suspends the entry of almost all foreign citizens who were in one of the certain European countries, China and Iran for 14 days before traveling to the United States. These European countries, known as the Schengen area, are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

This order does not apply to US citizens, permanent residents, and their family members under the age of 21, as well as some other persons specified in the proclamation. This also does not apply to cargo and commercial transport.

Google News button