The State Department lifted the ban on entry to the United States for residents of 13 countries

The previous administration of the White House imposed a ban on citizens of countries with a predominantly Muslim population on entering the United States.

Most US visa applicants who were denied entry to the United States because of a ban imposed by former President Donald Trump may be asked to reconsider their decision or submit new applications, the State Department said.

President Biden lifted the ban imposed by his predecessor, Donald Trump, on the first day of his presidency – January 20, 2021 – calling it a “stain on our national conscience” in a statement.

State Department spokesman Ned Price noted that applicants who were denied a visa before January 20, 2020, must submit new applications and pay a new registration fee. According to Price, those rejected on or after January 20, 2020, can request a review of the decision without resubmitting their applications and without paying the registration fee.

According to the State Department, about 40,000 people have been barred from entering the United States under an executive order since December 2017.

Under the previous administration, some countries were added, and others were removed from the list. At the end of Donald Trump’s presidency, it included Myanmar, Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Venezuela, and Yemen.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Author: Ivan Maltsev
The study of political and social problems of different countries of the world. Analysis of large companies on the world market. Observing world leaders in the political arena.
Function: Chief-Editor
Ivan Maltsev

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: