The Nobel Prize in physics was awarded for the study of black holes

This year’s winners of the Nobel Prize in physics are Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez.

As representatives of the Nobel Committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences clarified, British physicist and mathematician Penrose received the award “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity,” and German astrophysicist Genzel and American astronomer Ghez — “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”

On the eve of Stockholm announced the names of laureates in the field of physiology or medicine. Tomorrow it will be known who won the Nobel Prize in chemistry. On Thursday, the winner of the literature prize will be named, on Friday — the peace prize, and on Monday, October 12 — the Alfred Nobel memorial prize in Economics, established by the state bank of Sweden in 1969.

Tags: ,