The EU has imposed sanctions against Russia and China for cyber attacks

The European Union has imposed restrictive measures against structures and citizens of Russia, China, and North Korea, allegedly “involved in cyber-attacks”. This decision was made within the framework of the simplified EU sanctions regime on cyber-attacks, which was created a year ago, but has not yet been used.

“Six individuals and three organizations or bodies should be included in the list of individuals and legal entities subject to restrictive measures. These individuals and organizations or bodies are responsible for, support or have been involved in cyber-attacks or attempted cyberattacks, including the attempted cyber-attacks against the OPCW and the cyber-attacks publicly known as WannaCry and NotPetya, as well as operation Cloud Hopper,” Free News reports the contents of the ruling from the official EU journal.

Earlier it was reported that the permanent representatives of the 27 EU member states agreed on the introduction of restrictive measures.