The Booker Prize decided to issue in violation of its rules

Canadian writer Margaret Atwood and Briton Bernardine Evaristo won the Booker Prize.

Atwood won the award for the book The Testaments, a sequel to the dystopian novel the handmaid’s Tale. This is her second Booker Prize — in 2000, she already won with the book “Blind killer.” In the future, she was four times shortlisted.

Evaristo was awarded for his novel “Girl, woman, other.” She is the first black winner of the award.

The size of the Booker prize is £50 million (about $ 63 million).

This is the third time in history that two authors have shared the award. This happened in 1974 when the winners were Nadine Gordimer and Stanley Middleton, and in 1992, when they awarded Michael Ondaatje and Barry Unsworth.

In 1993, the rules were changed so that only one could be the winner. But this year we made an exception. The members of the jury decided that they did not agree with the current rules, said the Chairman of the jury Peter Florence, writes the Financial Times. According to him, they twice informed the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Award Helena Kennedy and during the second call, she agreed that the jury had no other choice.

Last year, writer Joha Alharthi from Oman won the Booker Prize for her book Celestial bodies.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor