Spain will allow entry for a number of categories of citizens from third countries

Spain has expanded the list of categories of citizens who will be able to enter the country from July 1, even if they are citizens of third countries, for which the EU will not open borders – we are talking about students and highly qualified specialists.

“As for the new categories, it is considered appropriate to include: holders of residence or long-term visas issued by member States (EU) and associated countries of the Schengen area. Therefore, it will not be necessary to prove that they are going directly to the place of residence. Students. Highly qualified employees whose work is essential and cannot be carried out remotely,” the order of the Ministry of Internal Affairs reads.

The order will take effect on July 1.

Spain has opened its borders to citizens of EU countries and the Schengen area since June 21. For the rest, entry to the country has been banned since mid-March-the only exceptions are those who can prove force majeure, diplomats, medical workers, cargo carriers, aircrews, and employees of border areas.

The EU is expected to announce on Tuesday the final list of third countries whose borders will open to citizens from July 1. Earlier, European media reported that Russia, the United States, and Brazil are not among them. The borders of all Latin American States will be open only to Uruguay. As reported by AFP, the proposed list of countries from which it will be possible to visit Europe in July and which is being approved by the EU states includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

Tags: , ,