Ronaldo threw the captain’s armband and left the field after a missed goal

Portugal striker Cristiano Ronaldo threw the captain’s armband and retired after a referee missed his goal against Serbia in the 2022 World Cup qualifier.

The conflict occurred in the third minute of the match’s added time, the score of which by that time was 2: 2. Ronaldo made a kick from outside the penalty area, but when the ball rolled to the goal’s border, the Serbian footballer pulled it out with his foot.

The Portuguese informed the referee that the ball crossed the goal line, but the goal was not awarded. Ronaldo was outraged by this decision, for which he received a yellow card. After that, the Portuguese national team captain threw the blindfold on the ground and left the field.

The meeting took place at the stadium “Raiko Mitic – Crvena Zvezda” in Belgrade and ended with 2: 2.

If you have found a spelling error, please, notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.

Author: Sam Smith
Graduated from University of Oxford. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the world news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

130 number 0.479593 time