Presidential disaster declarations are in effect throughout the United States for the first time

Declarations allow States to receive Federal funding to fight the coronavirus epidemic.

Wyoming on Saturday became the latest state that US President Donald Trump declared a disaster zone in connection with the coronavirus pandemic that killed more than 20,000 Americans.
For the first time in American history, presidential declarations of this kind apply to all 50 States. The Metropolitan District of Columbia, the US Virgin Islands, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and GUAM are also declared disaster zones.

Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon on Thursday formally asked the President to issue such a Declaration. At that time, more than 200 cases were reported in the state.

“Although Wyoming has not yet experienced the dire situation seen in other States, this Declaration will help us prepare and mobilize resources when they are needed,” Gordon said.

The declarations allow Federal funding to be allocated to state authorities, municipalities, and some nonprofit organizations, the White House said. They also allow state authorities to coordinate efforts with federal agencies such as the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the US army corps of engineers.
According to Johns Hopkins University, there are more than 530 thousand infected people registered in the country.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor