Nominees for the Directors Guild of America award are named

The Directors Guild Awards will be presented on January 25 in Los Angeles. The list of nominees includes both venerable Directors and newcomers.

Quentin Tarantino (“Once upon a time in … Hollywood”), Martin Scorsese (“the Irishman”), Sam Mendes (“1917”), Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”) and Taika Waititi (“Jojo Rabbit”) are up for the Director’s Guild award.

In the “Debut Work” category are Mati Diop (“Atlantique”), Alma Harel (“Honey”), Melina Matsoukas (“Queen and Slim”), Joe Talbot (“The Last Black Man in San Francisco”), Tyler Nilson and Michaela Schwartz (“The Peanut Butter Falcon”).

For the past six years, the choice of the Directors Guild coincides with the opinion of the US film Academy-the winner of the DGA also received an Oscar for Best Director.

The Directors Guild of America award was established in 1938. It is currently awarded in 11 categories: for best Director in film, television and various genres.

Google News button