Nobel Prize winners in medicine were two Americans and a Briton

The Nobel Prize in medicine was awarded to William Kaelin, Peter Ratcliffe and Gregg Semenza for their research on cellular responses to oxygen availability.

Stockholm was named the winners of the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for 2019. They were the American William Kaelin Jr., Briton Peter Ratcliffe and American Gregg Semenza for the study of “how cells feel the availability of oxygen and adapt to it.” The Nobel Committee announced this on Monday, October 7.

Scientists have “identified a molecular mechanism that regulates gene activity in response to different levels of oxygen,” the Royal Karolinska medical and surgical Institute in Stockholm said in a statement.

The Prize in physiology and medicine is awarded by the Royal Karolinska medico-surgical Institute of Stockholm, it’s Nobel Assembly includes 50 people. In total, the Nobel Prize in medicine was awarded 109 times, its winners until 2018 included 216 people, of which only 12 women.

On October 8, Nobel Committee will name the winners of the prize in physics, October 9-in chemistry, October 10-in literature. On the last day of the “Nobel week” will be known the name of the laureate of the peace prize.

The size of the Nobel Prize, as in the previous two years, will be 9 million SEK (in terms of about 830 thousand euros). The awards ceremony will traditionally take place in Stockholm and Oslo on the day of Alfred Nobel’s death on December 10.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor