Nobel Prize in chemistry awarded for lithium-ion batteries

The 2019 Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to scientists John Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino. According to the Nobel Committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm, the award was awarded to scientists for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

– Lithium-ion batteries have revolutionized our lives and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric cars. With their work, this year’s chemistry laureates laid the Foundation for a wireless society without fossil fuels, the Committee stressed.

John Goodenough is an American scientist, a specialist in physics and materials science. The last years of his life devoted to the development of a new type of battery, in which the metal is replaced by glass.

Stanley Whittingham is an English chemist. He is one of the researchers of lithium batteries; in particular, he developed the concept of electrode intercalation.

Akira Yoshino is a Japanese chemist. He invented the lithium-ion battery.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor