EU countries agreed to delay “Brexit” until January 31, 2020

The 27 EU member states have decided to approve the UK’s request to delay the “Brexit” date by three months-until 31 January 2020. The head of the European Council Donald Tusk stated on Monday in Brussels.

“The 27 EU countries have agreed to approve the UK’s request to delay “Brexit” until January 31, 2020,” he said.
According to Tusk, this “decision will be formalized by written procedure.”

The UK was due to leave the EU on March 29, 2019, two years after giving written notice of withdrawal from the community. However, members of the House of Commons of the British Parliament rejected three times the draft agreement on the terms of “Brexit” reached by Brussels and the government led by Prime Minister Theresa May.

As a result, the EU agreed to postpone Brexit first to April or May, then to October 31, and May was forced to resign, unable to break the deadlock.
Boris Johnson, who replaced her, insists that the country should leave the EU on October 31 with or without a deal, but because of the law passed by Parliament, he was forced to send a request to the European Council on October 19 for a new delay in “Brexit” – until January 31, 2020.

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor