Croatia decided to take in the Schengen area

The European Commission recommended that Croatia be admitted to the Schengen area, Free News reports. After four years of evaluation the country, in Brussels concluded that Zagreb meets all the necessary conditions for this.

In particular, it is noted that Croatia continues to fulfill the obligations related to the Schengen rules, which it undertook in 2016 within the framework of accession negotiations.

The Commission also felt that Zagreb would need to continue to work towards fulfilling all commitments, one of them being to secure the bloc’s external borders, particularly in light of the sensitive topic of migration. Against this background, Romania and Bulgaria, which have been negotiating accession since 2010, are still unable to gain access to the Schengen area.

The European Commission’s recommendation regarding Croatia has now been sent to the EU Council, which will have to decide on the country’s entry into the Schengen area.

The Schengen area, which allows free movement, currently includes 22 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Hungary, Germany, Greece, Denmark, Italy, Luxembourg, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, France, Finland, Estonia, Czech Republic, Sweden, as well as 4 associated non-EU countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland).

Author: Flyn Braun
Graduated from Cambridge University. Previously, he worked in various diferent news media. Currently, it is a columnist of the us news section in the Free News editors.
Function: Editor