15 American countries have banned Maduro and his allies from entering their territory

Under the sanctions were the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and defense, Vice President of Venezuela and other officials.

Fifteen American States have agreed to ban 29 Venezuelan citizens from entering their territory, including that country’s President Nicolas Maduro and his closest allies, as part of diplomatic efforts to get him to step down.

The meeting was attended by representatives of the countries participating in the inter-American Treaty on mutual assistance (IATAP), which provides for the joint defense of the members of the Organization of American States.

In September, the group approved the identification, sanctions, and extradition of senior Venezuelan government officials involved in money laundering, drug smuggling, and terrorism.
The people barred from entering the territory of the 15 IATAP countries also included Maduro’s main allies, including foreign Minister Jorge Arreaza, Defense Minister Vladimir Padrino, Vice President Delcy Rodriguez and the second man in the ruling Socialist Party, Diosdado Cabello.

Google News button